Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: G'day from Jabba in Australia  (Read 3922 times)

Offline Jabba

• New Bee
  • Bwaaark!
G'day from Jabba in Australia
« on: October 20, 2014, 06:39:54 am »
Hi everyone, I'm a noob beekeeper! I live in Melbourne, Australia and I have just been given a hive from a family friend.

We moved into our current home a year or two ago and have been building up our veggie gardens.  We have been slowly replacing the succulents and other weird and wonderful non-flowering plants with bee-friendly flowers or useful herbs and veggies.  The next logical move was to get bees involved to help pollinate and increase their production.  A local guy in our area was asking for people to host hives (he was a new beekeeper looking to get a bunch of hives out).  This seemed like a great idea, he would look after the hive and give us a harvest of honey every now and then, we would get all those lovely bees doing there thing in our garden.  Unfortunately he may have bitten off more than he can chew as he was pretty lax in checking the hive.  We noticed some reduction in bee numbers and asked him to come and check, but he never seemed to have time and we had no gear or knowledge to have a peek :(  Anyway long story short, he neglected the hive and it died off so we returned it.

After that we were a little reluctant to get another hive from him and we decided to have a go at our own.  My wife has an old family friend who is a beekeeper and has 100 or so hives that he has scattered over the place, so he gave us one of his mystery hives (I think has was scaling down or something).  It's currently just one deep with 9 frames (10 was too tight a fit).  It is an old one that has plenty of "character" so it is a bit uneven and full of gaps, but it's ours :)

So here I am looking to learn how to look after this hive by myself and eventually expand it or get another.

Offline jayj200

• Queen Bee
Re: G'day from Jabba in Australia