Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Wax moth damage  (Read 4985 times)

Offline Farmlady

• New Bee
Wax moth damage
« on: July 09, 2004, 11:53:33 am »
I thought you might want to see the damage wax moths cause.  I put a super on a colony which I thought was strong, but was too weak to combat the moths. The super was an old one that I had boiled in a bleach solution to kill anything, but obviously was still infected.  Do I have to destroy all the wood items on this hive?  I hope not...it's expensive!  

I hope the three pictures uploaded okay.  It's my first attempt at placing pictures in the forum.  Thanks, John! :D

Offline asleitch

• House Bee
Re: Wax moth damage
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2004, 12:55:00 pm »
Almost, you didn't get your "img" tages quite right ... you need one before and one after, with a / in front of it... e.g.

Code: [Select]
[img]http://www.imagestation.com/myimage.jpg[/img]

And also, you clicked the "thumbnail" images - I think I've worked out the URL to the actual images, and pasted them below...

Same URL as you posted but without the ".thumb.jpg" at the end... and

If you press the "quote" button at the top of my post, you should see the text used to add the images in.

That doesn't look very nice  :cry:

Adam

Offline Queen Bee

• House Bee
Wax moth damage
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2004, 02:03:00 pm »
My first year of beekeeping, I had a really strong hive (had 2 supers full of honey With all new wax and was a package of bees). We robbed the honey and didn't go back to the hive for 2 weeks.. Well, let us just say "your hive doesn't so bad compared to my hive"! It was total destroyed-- had so many wax moth larva, mush, web and casing that we could hardly pull it apart!! I was so upset that I had my husband start a fire and I put everything (frames,wooden ware, tops ,bottom and stand in the fire). I was afraid that if one larve got loose --he might get to another hive--I know now that I didn't have to do that....

Offline Farmlady

• New Bee