Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: bee-ginner in Utah  (Read 1946 times)

Offline bmacior

• House Bee
bee-ginner in Utah
« on: July 13, 2008, 12:18:11 am »
Hi,

I'm new to beekeeping this year, thanks to a friend at work who talked about putting a hive or two on our 5 acre property.  I still haven't figured out how that turned into me getting my own hives.

Been stung twice this year, both times my fault.  The first time must have only been half a sting as there was no stinger, hardly turned red, hardly itched, hardly swelled up.  The second time I ended up in the ER for several hours with all the symptoms of an allergic reaction.  And they say less than 1% is allergic to bee stings.  Sure surprised me.  I know wasp venom has a different chemical makeup from bee venom, and other than severe itching my wasp stings were no big deal.  Anyway, I'm hanging in there, fully protected.

It's been a rather disheartening first bee year for me.  Our spring was very cold and wet, and my package of bees have not done much.  They have finally drawn out the bottom brood box.  I did move a frame up into the second box to encourage them to move up.  Needless to say there will be no honey harvest this year.  Of course a honey harvest the first year is not ncessarily to be expected.  Even the experienced beekeepers around here are having the same problems, so I guess it's not necessarily my beekeeping abilities or lack there of.  Don't know if they will make through to spring.  If they do great, if not at least I'll have drawn out frames.  Not to give up hope though.  Already planning for next year.  Going to get a couple of more hives and see if I can't buy some nucs locally.

I picked Eyore as my first set of girls are two BLM wild burros, sweet Belle (she was one of the featured wild donkeys at the Salt Lake City 2002 winter Olymics) and problem child Sadie.

Anyway I enjoy reading what you all have to say.  I have a lot of learning to do.

Barb

Offline Frantz

• Field Bee