Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from Massachusetts  (Read 2470 times)

Offline jroles25

• Brood
Hello from Massachusetts
« on: April 01, 2011, 05:35:33 pm »
Hello Everyone,
I am so excited to find Beemaster.com and this forum.  I am very new to beekeeping; my first package of bees doesn't even arrive until the end of this month.  Good thing too as Mother Nature decided to play an April Fool's trick on us and hit us with four inches of very wet heavy snow.  What kind of reception would that be (no pun intended) for those poor bees arriving from Georgia  :bee:?  I belong to the Worcester County Beekeeper's Association and am currently attending their eight week Bee School.  What a huge interest in beekeeping there is...our bee school has about 300 students.  The club members are so knowledge and so passionate about teaching beekeeping that you just can't help but feel welcomed and appreciated.  Anyone in the area, if you are interested in beekeeping you are more than welcome.  Just last night one of our speakers told us that anyone is welcome to the "hands-on" meetings even if don't want to raise bees yourself but have a desire to just see how it's done.  My first hands on experience will be this weekend as I watch some club members "shake out" their newly arrived packages. 
I've got a question for new beekeepers: I've had pets all my adult life and felt a great responsibility toward them and I felt the same way about the bees in my hive.  (OK...I"m not going to name all my bees...but the person I bought my bees from recommended that I name the queen and that I am going to do).  In fact I was reluctant to even start a hive this year because I felt I should have had a year's worth of watching others just in case I would do something to hurt the bees.  I must admit I was a bit upset when I was told that novices often lose their first hive over the winter. 
Well, I'm off to finish nailing my frames and supers together.  Happy beekeeping everyone.
Jan
Worcester, MA