Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: My case against painted boxes  (Read 4452 times)

Offline FlashGordon

• New Bee
My case against painted boxes
« on: November 02, 2013, 07:04:30 pm »
This is my first year beekeeping and I have concluded that painting boxes is probably not a good idea.  I would like to hear if anyone has an opinion on this.  I pulled off a super the fall and noticed some mold. The mould was concentrated at the painted edge of the wood and was migrating toward the huge centre. I had painted the super with two coats of high gloss acrylic floor grade paint and it had trapped the moisture in the wood causing mold.  I would think that if the sun was warming the side of an unpainted box the moisture would dissipate. 
Any thoughts?

Offline gov1623

• House Bee
Re: My case against painted boxes
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2013, 07:25:31 pm »
The sun does dry out the wood faster on unpainted boxes causing the wood to crack and split because it gets too dry.  Painted boxes last longer than unpainted boxes.
Who Dat!!!

Offline merince

• House Bee
    • Maria's Bees
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2013, 09:24:35 pm »
I paint mine. Some beekeepers prefer to dip them in wax or rosin.

Bare wood does not last long in my area. I use barn paint and haven't had mold issues with it.

Offline Vance G

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2013, 09:28:57 pm »
If that box was in use and got that wet and moldy, your bees need more ventilation would be my guess.  Bees live in wet moldy places called hollow trees and manage OK I think we worry more than they do.

Offline rwlaw

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2013, 09:51:02 pm »
About the only way your going to get away from not painting is to use cypress or cedar for your boxes.
I'm curious, when you say the mold was edge going to the center, is the middle by the handhold? Maybe you've got some soft grain that's catching water.
Can't ever say that bk'n ain't a learning experience!

Offline riverrat

• House Bee