Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: hello to all  (Read 2602 times)

Offline jimmy

• House Bee
hello to all
« on: March 03, 2008, 10:27:44 pm »
I am a newbie here as well as the bee learning. I bought a brood chamber and a small super last spring. I then purchased a Russian queen w/3# of bees and stocked it last spring.
I only harvested 2 frames of honey last summer b/cause I wanted to make sure my bees had plenty of rations over the winter.
This Spring I have gotten my wife, Liz, interested . We are in the process of expanding a little this year.
We live in south east Louisiana close to Mississippi on 2 sides.
Spring is getting ready to spring here on the north shore of Lake Ponchatrain.
We have looked in our hive twice this year on warm days .Those days there was plenty activity of bees bringing pollen back to the hive.
We  ordered some honeycomb foundations from Mann lake as we don't have an extractor as of date.
My neghibor has a hive in a childs playhouse that I am in the process of obtaining later.
We are reading everything about bees we can get our hands on as we are retired and started this as a hobby.
I'll get off the soapbox for now. Jimmy

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
Re: hello to all
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2008, 12:01:37 am »
Jimmy, welcome to our forum, wonderful that your Wife is going to be involved deeply too.  I love that.  You were very wise to leave the bees with lots of food for winter, and not too much for yourself.  That will help them so much with their spring buildup that will be bountiful.  You will more than likely be able to split this colony, maybe even a couple of times.  Good that you are getting another colony too, in a child's playhouse, of all the places, eh? 

Ask you questions, tell us your stories of your lives with the bees.  We love to hear these stories and experiences.  I speak for us all.  Welcome, have a wonderful and beautiful day, love this life we lead.  Cindi