Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Storing frames with foundation.  (Read 4221 times)

Offline BabcockFarms

• House Bee
Storing frames with foundation.
« on: May 11, 2012, 01:10:11 am »
I am interested in how you all store built frames with foundation. As I am just starting out and don't know if there is much of a problem with wax moths here in Nebraska, I will have to assume there is. I am building up extra boxes and frames with foundation so when I need to add another one on I am ready to go. However if wax moths are around what steps do I need to assure I don't have problems storing them?

TIA,

Ron
Ron Babcock

"I believe the good that men do, will live long after they gone."
                                                                                                                          ~Mr. Fox Haas

<

Online Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Storing frames with foundation.
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 02:10:05 am »
I'm between Omaha and Lincoln.  Here's what I do:
http://www.bushfarms.com/beeswaxmoths.htm#Control
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 08:49:39 am »
Wax moths won't bother foundation.  Drawn comb is another issue.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 06:18:31 pm »
Drawn comb goes into the freezer for a few days.   Then I have a commercial glass front fridge that I can store 30 or 40 boxes in, at room temp.  It seals up nice to keep the bugs out. 

Offline BabcockFarms

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2012, 06:45:11 pm »