Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Why is this bee a different color?  (Read 2960 times)

Offline jeremy_c

• House Bee
Why is this bee a different color?
« on: May 11, 2009, 04:06:18 pm »
This is my first year as a beek. This Saturday I installed my 3rd and 4th hive and with these two hives I have a small percentage of different color bees. They are suppose to be Italian. I had to wait around to get a picture of this bee, but I've seen many of them, sometimes three or more on the landing area at a time and then other times 5 minutes go by w/o seeing one with this coloring.

Any thoughts on this? Here is a picture of her:

http://jeremy.cowgar.com/files/black_yellow_hb.jpg

Thanks for any info!

Jeremy
Bee section of my blog: http://jeremy.lifewithchrist.org/category/bee-keeping.html ... has stories, pictures and videos of a new beekeeper.

Offline zzen01

• House Bee
Re: Why is this bee a different color?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 04:22:37 pm »
The first one hasn't had a chance to put on her make-up yet. :-D

Offline BeeHopper

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 04:46:19 pm »
The Queen in the packages you bought may be Italian, but her offspring will vary depending on the Drones she mated with. The Workers and Drones that she came with in the packages are not necessarily her offspring either.

Offline Bee Happy

• Super Bee
  • that's me - setting a phoenix free
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 05:31:31 pm »
The Queen in the packages you bought may be Italian, but her offspring will vary depending on the Drones she mated with. The Workers and Drones that she came with in the packages are not necessarily her offspring either.

I've got a pretty good number of those nice little carniolans. I don't mind them at all, they bring pollen and nectar - nice girls really.
be happy and make others happy.

Offline jeremy_c

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 05:56:21 pm »