Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Community Based Beekeeping Project  (Read 3011 times)

Offline doree

• Brood
Community Based Beekeeping Project
« on: February 26, 2006, 01:50:47 am »
I am looking forward to learning more about beekeeping from this forum.  I would like to set up my beekeeping activity in Jamaica, a community based project similar to Honey Care Africa.  I am a newbie in the beekeeping world so I have lots to learn. I look forward to receiving your suggestions, advice and help.  Come on down to JA.

Offline BEE C

• House Bee
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2006, 11:53:01 pm »
Hey,
I'm in BC canada too, I'm curious where you are,I live in mission BC.  I am starting two hives tomorrow.  I'm taking lessons at HoneylandCanada in Pitt Meadows.  Email me if you'd like.

Offline beemaster

• Site Founder
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • It is my pleasure to bring the forums to you.
    • http://www.beemaster.com
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2006, 11:51:54 am »
Whether a single lecture or a permanent based exhibit, you need to go above and beyond - an exhibit whether active (people get to help with the tools, spin honey, anything active) or inactive where they observe HOPEFULLY with someone saying what is going on, breaking the boxes apart for inspection, etc. or at the very least  DETAILED information stating in large print what is going on and basic hive history explaining the queen, workers and drones, what they do and don't do and how the life cycles in the hive are so very different. An audio looping tape is ideal for fitting lots of information, few people stay around and read paragraphs of information and they walk away with little leaned.

http://www.beemaster.com/honeybee/lect2000.html