Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Workers Flying away with larvae  (Read 2153 times)

Offline misterbliss

• New Bee
Workers Flying away with larvae
« on: April 22, 2006, 05:38:48 pm »
OK... hi all.. NEWBIE here ... and to my poor Bees - I have had my bees now 2 weeks.

Opened hive last eve - couldn't find marked Queen. No stress - saw what looks like capped brood in center frames.

Cleaned up some burr comb left over from Queen cage gap. Should I leave burr comb so my ladies can find it? will they recycle?

No Stings! yeah!... (well my wife's cat has a swollen face she says is my fault)..

HERE is MY QUESTION for this post:
This AM - I was observing my bees while having my coffee. I saw a bee struggle out with a white 'larvae'. She couldn't get airborne, so she fell in front of hive. and then flew away- leaving Larvae on ground. I watched @ 30 minutes and noticed another brood on ground in front of the hive. Then saw another bee FLY AWAY with a larvae. Is this normal? Where was she going with the 'grub'? The 'brood' I investigated on the ground was all white and milky on the inside.

It was @ 60 degrees last night (don't suspect chilled brood). I am pretty sure the burr I removed didn't damage any brood cells.

I can't describe in words very well - - how lost I feel. I feel my bees rely on me to give them what they need and protect them from harm... But I don't know what is normal and what is not. Heck on my 2nd day - they were flying crazy everywhere and bunching up at entrance.. I thought maybe the were getting 'robbed' already. But noticed this behavior over the last two weeks.. so it appears normal to me. I have learned a lot since Nov. (my decision date).. and continue to be humbled by my ignorance. I hope that I don't do anything too stupid and cause my hive's demise.

any observations or advice is much appreciated.

as always,
Misterbliss

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac