Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Questions about bees in orchards  (Read 5247 times)

Offline jdesq

• House Bee
Questions about bees in orchards
« on: December 16, 2011, 05:52:46 pm »
I have been keeping bees for about 8 years. This year my son and I bought a 20 acre apple orchard. I will need to grow my apiary from 6 hives to around 20 just for the pollination factor and also  need alot more honey to sell in our store at the orchard. My question is, will I have to move the bees out of the orchard completely after petal drop or is there a way I can leave them on the edge of the orchard and not have to worry about spraying.  I feel like the drift will harm them no matter what. Though as I drive past other orchards I do see hives set up year round. Anyone have any experience in this?  I would love to leave them there, and the school kids that come for tours would like to see them from afar. I'm torn on what to do.

Offline iddee

• Universal Bee
Re: Questions about bees in orchards
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2011, 06:26:56 pm »
That all depends on what and how sprayed. Spray a 4 hour half life after dark and they will be fine. Spray at noon on a sunny day and disaster......
"Listen to the mustn'ts, child. Listen to the don'ts. Listen to the shouldn'ts, the impossibles, the won'ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me . . . Anything can happen, child. Anything can be"

*Shel Silverstein*

Offline FRAMEshift

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2011, 06:38:38 pm »
Spray a 4 hour half life after dark and they will be fine.

I don't understand how you can say this.  If there is a four hour half-life, then 12 hours later there will still be 1/8th of the poison left.  How do you know that 1/8th strength poison will not still kill or damage the bees?

If you must spray, then close up the hives until almost all the poison is gone.  Moving the hives won't help unless you move them several miles away.
"You never can tell with bees."  --  Winnie-the-Pooh