Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Crash course  (Read 5202 times)

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
Crash course
« on: July 21, 2006, 06:49:49 am »
I recently had a young man run off the road and take out the power pole and a tree across the street from my house.  I live on the edge of town on a back road and too many people make it a habit of coming into town at a high rate of speed.  They sometimes loose control and boom, the lights go out.
We (Me, my wife, & my son) were the 1st on the scene.  My son went to school with the driver.  It hit him pretty hard to try to rescue someone only to find out he knew the person.  I told him I knew how he felt, I'd had to do it a lot when I was a cop.
The power was out and all the chicken eggs I had in my incubator have died as a result--they were supposed to have hatched yesterday.  :(

The drivers ok, by which I mean he survived the accident.  He will probably be crippled for the rest of his life--I know how that is also so all I can do is pray for him.  

The moral of the story is: Don't drink and Drive.
Life is a school.  What have you learned?   :brian:      The greatest danger to our society is apathy, vote in every election!

Offline randydrivesabus

• Queen Bee
Crash course
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2006, 09:37:54 am »
that sucks about your incubating eggs. you have no broody hens?

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
Crash course
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2006, 10:00:31 am »
I thought I had one but after a few days she got of the nest--ended up throwing out 15 eggs.  Tried it again and same results although she might have sat for a full week that time.  Threw out another dozen eggs.  Decided to resort to the incubator.  hatched 17 to replaced my aging layers and then decided to raise some fryers.