Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Has anyone seen this happen?  (Read 3433 times)

Offline tereads

• New Bee
Has anyone seen this happen?
« on: November 04, 2006, 06:37:36 pm »
This is my first year of beekeeping.  In September I harvested 60 pounds of honey from one of my two hives (the other one produced nothing).  So, I put the supers back on the hive (above the inner cover) so the bees could clean them out and when I went back several days later, lo and behold the bees had begun to rebuild the comb and load it with new honey.
Since it was getting cold I took the supers and uncapped the new honey and took it.  This second crop of honey immediately solidified, but not in a coarse crystalized way.  It's the consistency of butter and in fact looks as if it were honey mixed with butter.  It's almost white.  Have any of you ever seen honey that was "naturally" creamed like this?  It's delicious but I've never read anything about something like this happening.
And another question:  now that we've had several hard frosts and the bees seem to have stopped coming and going should I take my pail feeder off? Or try to keep feeding them a little longer?  If I take off the pail I thought I'd take off the empty super surrounding it and just vent the inner cover with a pencil or twigs.  Is that all right?  I've shimmed an opening between the upper and lower deep.  The mouseguard at the lower entrance doesn't seem like much room for bees to come and go if it warms up and they need to go on a cleansing flight.  I'd appreciate any feedback on any of this.  Thanks
Terry
PS:  I'm in New York, near the Berkshires.

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
Re: Has anyone seen this happen?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2006, 07:03:03 pm »