Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Second Swarm Call  (Read 2266 times)

Offline Carriage House Farm

• House Bee
    • Carriage House Farm
Second Swarm Call
« on: May 15, 2008, 07:30:53 pm »
Weather blew for this one.  I got a decent amount of bees but it was a mess.  It started pouring right as I was starting, so I had everything soaked and LOTS of angry off bees that were quite happy clustering up on a handrail "thank you very much".

Must have a hundred or two stingers imbedded in my gloves.  I had missplaced my brush and was desperate to move the last part of the cluster and used my hands....glad I had gloves on.

Nice and low like the last.  I got most the bees in the box with a couple shakes and waited to see if the queen MIGHT be in the mess.  I think she was as they started to fan the front and draw others in.  I was out of frames of honey and drawn foundation (This is my first year, so I am really short on stuff like that right now).  So I lubed up some frames of foundation with 1:1 and shot some on some old comb chunks that I was waiting to melt and filter and it seemed to work OK.  I also used the same box I have been using to transfer and capture the last swarm.

It was quick.  I got the call at 2PM.  Drove the 15 minute to the location.  I had them all in the box by 4:30 and had them in a 10 frame medium on a SBB, with feeder and covers by 5:30.

I know I got the bees but I killed a whole bunch trying to beat the rain.  I told myself I would not humanize them but I still feel bad that it did not ga as smoothly as the last one.

Regardless though...No lie, I love bees, I love getting bees, I love talking to people that have 'em, and love watching 'em while I eat lunch on the farm.

I really had no idea I would get this drawn in, this quickly doing it, but I love it.

I'll post pics in a bit.

Richard Stewart
Carriage House Farm
North Bend, Ohio

An Ohio Century Farm

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
Re: Second Swarm Call