Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hi from Western Australia  (Read 2512 times)

Offline megs_westaus

• New Bee
Hi from Western Australia
« on: December 10, 2012, 07:48:35 pm »
Hello beekeepers,

I'm a newbie hobbyist beekeeper. I "started" three years ago when I randomly decided it would make an interesting hobby so scouted out a local supplier and wandered down to ask for some advice on how to get started. Walked out with all the parts for a 10 frame WSP hive - I'd be back later for the other equipment I'd need once my hive was built.

The afternoon after I'd put together a base, lid, and single box including frames, I was walking a dog and just happened to see a swarm on the side of the road (I swear I'd never seen, or at least noticed, a swarm until that one!) so came back with my box and no protective gear and collected those girls up.

My first swarm seemed to be doing well but eventually it became clear I had a worker layer rather than a queen. After that false start I collected SO many swarms and new nests that season and the following one and all of them failed. I almost had a good one last season but it was a small swarm with a good queen, but the weather after I collected them was horrible and wet for weeks and they didn't manage to establish properly.

Fast forward to this year and still I had a couple of false starts - one case of dark comedy where the bees found a hole in the box in the car and started filling up my hatchback until I put the box in a plastic storage container to try and keep them in, which unfortunately smothered them, and another where the bees were so nasty and unworkable I intentionally got rid of them (though I don't think they even had a queen anyway!)