Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Ironbark Cutout  (Read 3123 times)

Offline Lone

• Queen Bee
Ironbark Cutout
« on: October 18, 2009, 10:04:44 pm »
Hello,

We did a cutout to an ironbark tree last Thursday.  This is my third one.  The first absconded the next day, and the other one was dead in a couple of months.  So I am still learning!

Anyway, it was a shame to cut down such a big old ironbark tree, but this paddock is being cleared, and the bees were the reason the tree wasn't cut down earlier.  They were so quiet I didn't use smoke at first, and four young boys came to inspect and chew on some honey without getting stung.  They had built to halfway down the trunk.  Gone are their days of using crosscut saws and wedges, and the chainsaw man cut a window to exactly where the comb stopped.  Ironbark can be hard and it was quite thick, so he didn't want to cut at the fork initially, which still had bees inside.  So we smoked and smoked until the bees thought it was a bushfire and conveniently swarmed onto a fallen branch.

I have heard of bee vacs and trapouts, but does anyone ever use smoke to move the colony out?  This certainly was quick and easy, and we assume the queen was in the middle of the swarm.