Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: how do i know if i'm queenless ?  (Read 1938 times)

Offline bulldog

• House Bee
how do i know if i'm queenless ?
« on: July 25, 2010, 10:45:25 pm »
i bought a nuc about three and a half weeks ago. there were eggs, larva and capped brood, of course.all i have now are capped brood and not that many. did my queen leave ? or die ? there are no new eggs or larva, at least i don't think so, but i am new to this so maybe i just don't know what to look for. it looks like most of the combs are either filled with honey right now or empty, they are making some new comb too.  would the hive continue business as usual with no queen ? they seem to be busy doing what bees do. do i have a virgin queen that hasn't started laying yet ? i'm completely clueless right now. i saw what i thought was a queen cell a week ago, but if i'm right, it would have hatched by now. and it doesn't look like it has. right now i think i should just get a new queen, but i don't want to buy one just to have it get killed. what should i do ? any help is greatly appreciated.
Confucius say "He who stand on toilet is high on pot"

Offline irerob

• House Bee
Re: how do i know if i'm queenless ?
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2010, 11:02:00 pm »
   is getting a frame of brrod from another hive an option? have you noticed a difference in the hives behavior ?
You don't need a parachute to sky dive.... you do how ever need one to sky dive twice.
 KJ4QMH.

Offline bulldog

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 11:05:51 pm »
i'm brand new at this so i really don't know if their behavior has changed, they seem prefectly calm whenever i go in there and watching the entrance, everything seems normal. but, i do not have another hive to get any brood from, unfortunately.
Confucius say "He who stand on toilet is high on pot"

Offline irerob

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2010, 11:33:25 pm »