Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Other uses for LC foundation  (Read 9209 times)

Offline Mairzy_doats

• House Bee
Other uses for LC foundation
« on: March 23, 2009, 05:00:41 pm »
I was given a box (about 15 sheets) of large cell foundation by a former beekeeper. I didn't refuse, since I was also given an entire box of unassembled medium frames. (woo hoo!!) So I'm wondering if there is something I can do with the foundation, even though I'm planning on going foundationless. Use it for starter strips maybe? Or would that cause a mess? They're wired, if that makes a difference. I was thinking, and this may sound ridiculous to you veteran beekeepers, but what if I put it in the frames and then cut it out so that there was only a small strip running all the way around the frame that the bees could fill in with natural comb? Or would that cause problems? Don't laugh.....I'm very very new at this :-D

~mary

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Other uses for LC foundation
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2009, 06:44:35 pm »
why not just use it for honey supers?   The crimped wires are very tough, you'll most likely just destroy it if you try cutting the wires.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline fermentedhiker

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2009, 08:32:55 pm »
I had a couple leftover sheets of it and I used tin snips to cut it into starter strips, worked fine.  But Robo's idea would work great also.
Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.
--Douglas Adams

Offline Mairzy_doats

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2009, 09:43:23 pm »