These days, 'vegan' has come to mean anyone that chooses not to eat meat or eggs/milk products. A general 'vegetarian, IOW. lacto-vegetarians or ovo-vegetarians are often simply called vegetarians. My younger daughter decided she wanted to be 'vegan', until I was finally able to convince her that it is not simply eating vegetarian, but also the philosophical opposition to utilizing any animal products whatsoever. She decided it is a religion of sorts, and she already has her faith. She eventually decided to give up red meats, because they give her indigestion, but poultry, eggs and dairy are still on the table. And she likes leather furniture.