Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Screen bottom board question  (Read 2807 times)

Offline Dange

• House Bee
Screen bottom board question
« on: February 02, 2011, 06:22:42 pm »
I am very new to beekeeping, and just received my deluxe kit.  I have a question regarding the screen bottom board while wintering hives. I live in Michigan and was wondering if going into winter if I need to place a solid board in it's place or do you let the sbb alone?
Thanks!

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Screen bottom board question
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2011, 06:26:00 pm »
People do it both ways.   I think most close the bottom up.   Mine are open right now, but I am way south of you.

Offline Dange

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2011, 07:27:37 pm »
When is a good time to close them up? Is there a certain temp range?

Offline Bee-Bop

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2011, 08:52:51 pm »
In the fall when your doing your winter preperations.

Bee-Bop
" If Your not part of the genetic solution of breeding mite-free bees, then You're part of the problem "

Offline chrissv

• New Bee
    • Steven's Bees
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2011, 09:01:38 pm »
I live in central MA, and we are in the midst of the Snowpocalapse.
I run SBB's in all my hives, and the only thing I do for winter is I put a piece of 1 inch Styrofoam insulation loosely under the SBB, just to cut down the drafts. But I think some air movement is good, and my bees survived.

-- Steven

Offline T Beek

• Super Bee
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2011, 07:47:18 am »
There are several schools of thought when it comes to SBB.  I've left them open and have closed them up, and had thriving survivors in both come Spring.  My strongest colony so far (5 years) was without any bottom (just SBB) for three winters, but I closed it this past fall.  I only have one Lang open now and last check they are doing fine.