Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Bee REmoval  (Read 4592 times)

Offline daven8er

• New Bee
Bee REmoval
« on: May 29, 2010, 01:12:47 pm »
Hello everyone. I started learning about bees a month ago in order to remove a hive in one of my outbuildings. I will try to put a video on if I can figure it out. My question is this: Bees go in thru the outside of the building, so how do I know which  side of the wall (inside or outside) the comb is attached to? I have access to the inside and it is 4' X 8' sheets of Masonite for some of the wall, and an asbestos type material on the lower section. I assume the smooth surface is where the comb is attached. So should I work from the inside or outside?

Online Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Bee REmoval
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2010, 01:25:05 pm »
i would say work where it's easiest access.  they are probably attached to both sides.  i prefer outside if you can do it, but lots of times it's easier to remove the inside wallboard.

you'll have to get a moderator to post your video because you don't have enough posts yet to do it yourself.  also, if you can go into your profile and put your location, someone local can probably give you local advice.

Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline daven8er

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2010, 05:03:40 pm »
Thank you for your reply. I have learned allot from this forum and everyone seems to be more than willing to help. My profile has been updated for all to see :).

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2010, 05:32:44 pm »
Dave, as Kathy mentioned, approach it from the angle that you are most comfortable with. Really no way of knowing what side or both they are connected to until the wall is opened. Most of the comb sections will be attached to the top plate and vertical studs.

...JP