Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 2nd Timer in Bama  (Read 2151 times)

Offline Peanut

• House Bee
2nd Timer in Bama
« on: April 24, 2016, 12:35:34 am »
Hello to one and all! I look forward to learning. I'm a disabled vet, my elderly dad and I raise cattle on 122 acres.

This is my 2nd attempt with bees. Dad and I used to have a 200 tree peach orchard (too many nasty chemicals). Dad could not take the summer heat anymore and the trees were at the end of their commercial life so I pulled up all but 30 or so, left a few for family and friends.

The next spring I got two packages of bees (3lb each). I had a 5 year plan to replace the orchard income with honey. Humble start, I placed them near the old orchard because crimson clover had grown under the trees. I?d had them about a week, queens were released by the workers, all was well. Until I looked up on the hill one day and saw dad was doing something around the few remaining peach trees. I raced up there to discover he was spraying ?Malathion? on the trees like he had done every spring for decades. It was dripping onto the crimson clover underneath? You can guess what happened to my bees! Despite the fact we?d discussed it all winter, he?s old, he did not understand.

Both hives survived the initial hit. One was down to 1000 bees but the queen would not lay, I replaced her. Despite that they were dead by August. The other hive only lost half its number and was growing in number within a month. They produced 2 supers of honey. I took one and left the other for them.