Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Disappointed w/Hopguard - Need Clarification on Oxylic Acid Method  (Read 7662 times)

Offline AliciaH

• Field Bee
Just came home from my state conference realizing (also from observation) that when and how I used my Hopguard is going to leave my bees with a mite load going into winter.  I need to treat them again and am considering using an oxalic acid drip, which I've never tried before.

I've read some of the threads here and also watched a video on applying the solution, but wanted to clarify that when you apply the solution to the seems (between the frames) that have bees, you are only applying from the top of the hive?  You don't need to take the boxes apart?

Also wanted to double check a recipe I found on-line (I'm bad with math and conversions, so this seemed simple enough I could handle it):
  1 part by weight of Oxalic acid dihydrate
  10 parts by weight water
  10 parts by weight sugar

Thanks for the help!

Offline rdy-b

• Super Bee

Offline AliciaH

• Field Bee
Re: Disappointed w/Hopguard - Need Clarification on Oxylic Acid Method
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2011, 08:32:45 pm »
rdy-b:  These are great articles and answered many of my questions, so THANK YOU very much for the link!  Now I even know why cows don't eat the buttercups, which is kind of cool!

Another question, though:  When I move to the link with the table for measuring (The Learning Curve, Part III), there is a notation that says, "The concentrations in the first row are of actual oxalic acid content, not the dihydrate...."

But many of the articles talk about the dihydrate and it sounds like if I go buy wood bleach, that I will be buying a dihydrate.  How do I apply that to the formula?  For those of you who purchase this stuff (sorry, I haven't run to the store to look, yet), will there be a formula on the side of the container that tells me how strong the solution is?

Offline rdy-b

• Super Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2011, 10:50:16 pm »