Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: will a swarm produce honey  (Read 2220 times)

Offline Bee Whisper82

• House Bee
will a swarm produce honey
« on: May 17, 2009, 02:03:42 am »
Hey,
     I have a question I am new to beekeeping and I have 3 hives this year that my father-in-law caught for me and I was wondering will a swarm produce honey and how much and if any when to check. Is it alright to check every week or check every 2 weeks. Any advice or ideas please. :bee:

Offline patook

• House Bee
    • Brother Bee Apiary
Re: will a swarm produce honey
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 02:11:04 am »
A swarm will act a lot like a package of bees. They are going to need to first draw comb and start laying brood. Much depends on the size of the swarm and where you live (your profile says you are lost). However, unless you have a lot of bees and a strong fall flow, I would think it would be unlikely to get honey off a swarm this season. Feeding them will help them draw out comb and give them a head start. So would giving them comb and/or brood.

Offline bailey

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 02:29:57 am »
any hive that i can get before july and that has a good queen  can have a super of honey in the fall.
we get a good fall flow as long as we get a little rain. but i live in the south part of louisiana.
we can wear shorts in november quite often.

bailey
most often i find my greatest source of stress to be OPS  ( other peoples stupidity )

It is better to keep ones mouth shut and be thought of as a fool than to open ones mouth and in so doing remove all doubt.

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2009, 11:07:43 pm »