Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Transport Queen Cell  (Read 3904 times)

Offline StephenSDH

• New Bee
Transport Queen Cell
« on: June 25, 2009, 12:02:55 pm »
I would like to transport a couple capped queen cells from my hive to my fathers house 5 hours away.  I was thinking of putting a couple jugs of water in a cooler that are warmed up to 95 degrees and hope that regulates the temp.  Scrap off some queen cells and keep them upright for the ride.  Then install them once I get there.  I am new at all this so any suggestions would be appreciated.  I am wondering how they ship when you order capped queens by mail.

Thanks Again,  Steve

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Transport Queen Cell
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2009, 12:07:59 pm »
I would transport them in a nuc and let the bees regulate the temperature/humidity.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline Cheryl

• House Bee
  • top bar beekeeper
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2009, 01:13:17 pm »
I would transport them in a nuc and let the bees regulate the temperature/humidity.
My thoughts exactly. Even a "package" box with a bunch of nurse bees -- Like Robo said, let the bees do it. They know best.
We are what we repeatedly do.
Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.

~ Aristotle

Offline StephenSDH

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2009, 01:49:27 pm »
Its a good thing, but a bad thing.  All my equipment (and my only nuc which a buddy has because he wanted to keep bees in the city undercover) has bees in it right now.  I will try rigging something up like you guys said and take a frame with bees on it.

Thanks, Steve

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2009, 01:53:25 pm »