Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Switch Hive bodies  (Read 1665 times)

Offline Dr. B in Wisconsin

• House Bee
Switch Hive bodies
« on: May 08, 2010, 03:37:20 pm »
Hello
I am new to beekeeping, and am looking for advice. This is a follow up to my first question on this forum. My bees have been in the bottom hive body for 24 days as of today. I looked at them on May 5 and most of the frames had comb built out. I would say 6 had brood on both sides, lots of it. Right above that hive I have the inner cover and then I have a empty second hive body with a jar of the sugar water for feed and telescoping cover on top. I feel I need to take out the sugar water and place 10 foundations in it. I am nervous about the cold snap here in Wisconsin, down to 32 tonight and high of 44 on Tuesday and still more cold after that. I do not want the brood to die. One bee keeper on this forum suggested that I move the hive with the bees to the top and put the empty hive with the empty foundation on the bottom. Heat rises, so the heat will stay on the top where the bees will be. I think that is a good idea, anyone agree??. One question I need to know if I do this, will the bees go DOWN and fill the comb below them?? Is this un-natural for them.  Should I reverse the hives when / if it ever warms up here??  I am seeing little fuzzy bees by my entrance so the brood is starting to hatch. Am I the expecting father, can bees take the cold with brood ?? Any advice / hints would be greatly appreciated.

Offline Jim134

• Galactic Bee
    • Franklin County Beekeepers Association
Re: Switch Hive bodies
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2010, 04:53:10 pm »
Is your hive like this   :?

hive cover

hive body  (New no bees)

inner cover

hive body  (old bees the brood live in it)

bottom board

BEE HAPPY Jim 134  :)
"Tell me and I'll forget,show me and I may  remember,involve me and I'll understand"
        Chinese Proverb