Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Help with Existing Hive  (Read 1573 times)

Offline bbane

• Brood
Help with Existing Hive
« on: May 07, 2007, 03:45:29 pm »
My father was an avid beekeeper and recently passed away.  He left behind two active colonies.  Both have 5 supers on them and I am unsure if they were treated for mites in the fall.  I am new to beekeeping and would like to keep my fathers hives.  I have not yet inspected the hive, and the Queen appears to be at the top.  The hives are of the Langstroth design and have 10 frames per super. 

Should I remove any of the supers?  Should I feed the hive?  Should I treat for mites?  Any additional information regarding the initial inspection of these hives would be greatly appreciated.  Thank-You.

Offline Understudy

• Galactic Bee
    • http://www.understudy.net
Re: Help with Existing Hive
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2007, 04:13:21 pm »
My father was an avid beekeeper and recently passed away.  He left behind two active colonies.  Both have 5 supers on them and I am unsure if they were treated for mites in the fall.  I am new to beekeeping and would like to keep my fathers hives.  I have not yet inspected the hive, and the Queen appears to be at the top.  The hives are of the Langstroth design and have 10 frames per super. 
First, Welcome to the forums. Update your profile to include your location we can help you better that way. Find out if there is a local beekeepers club near you.
Should I remove any of the supers?
Do an inspection first. See how much brood you have. Look for any signs of disease.

Should I feed the hive? 
Probably not. Depends on where you are.

Should I treat for mites?
Probably not again. Depends on where you are and how many mites you have. You could do a powdered sugar treatment. You could do a sticky board or shake test to see how many mites you have.

Any additional information regarding the initial inspection of these hives would be greatly appreciated.  Thank-You.