Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Grouchy Bees?  (Read 2212 times)

Offline MikeG

• House Bee
  • BAN THE DEEPS
Grouchy Bees?
« on: September 21, 2009, 09:42:44 pm »
This is my third season but still pretty ignorant.  I robbed my bees about 2 or 3 weeks ago, but man! are they grouchy!  I can't get within 10 feet of the hive without having 1 or 2 angry bees run me off.  They don't just stick with me for another 10 feet, either.  I have to move off at least 100 feet or more before they will give it up.

I love these girls and won't hold it against them, but I'm wondering what to take of this.  They have been extraordinarily gentle until this point.  Is this normal "fall" behavior?  (I've not seen it before)  Is it a sign of robbing by other bees?

Mike

Offline bee-nuts

• Queen Bee
    • Nectar Meadows Apiaries
Re: Grouchy Bees?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2009, 10:40:54 pm »
I am no expert but have seen this behavior from bees in the fall a couple of years ago.  When a friend of mine and I robbed his bees I had a few that wanted my blood.  One chased me over a hundred yards.  When I can back to the house it came after me again and got me on the nose a bit.  I swatted it when it landed on my nose and It did not loss its stinger but left a swelling like a zit on my nose that I could not believe the pain it caused.  Those bees meant business that year.  I have been surprised at how gentle my bees have been this year as dry as it is.  I have had supper robed and even the robbed hive was gentle to me which really surprised me.  All bees are different I'm sure but I think common knowledge is that bees become touchy in the fall more so then most times of the year.

I don't know about robbing by the other bees but you robbed em and I bet they remember your smell.
The moment a person forms a theory, his imagination sees in every object only the traits which favor that theory

Thomas Jefferson

Offline rick42_98

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2009, 07:47:47 pm »