Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: need advice....robbing!  (Read 1478 times)

Offline funbee1

• New Bee
need advice....robbing!
« on: May 03, 2012, 09:19:35 pm »
Hi I'm new to bee keeping, I started three hives this spring in Michigan. I started two hives on April 16 and the third on April 26. Yesterday I inspected all three hives, it was the first time into hive three. In hive three I found the queen had been released from her cage and they had one frame completly drawn and two others on one side only. I didn't locate the queen in that hive but there were already eggs in the fully drawn frame. I was however worried because there was what I'm sure are the beginings of two queen cells on the fully drawn frame. They aren't complete and I'm new but they are 100% going to be queen cells in the middle of the frame.

Today I walked over just to watch the hives for a few minutes and notices that hive three, my newest hive, is getting it's butt kicked by robbers. There are a couple hundred dead bees in front of the hive and there is a different species of bee entering the hive. I have Italians and these robbers are very dark colored. I had the entrance reducer set with the opening about three inches. I imediatly moved it to the smallest opening of about one inch and plan to go out there first thing in the morning and plug it right off with grass. I have about a gallon of 1:1 sugar water in a top feeder.

What else should I try to do? Do you think I'm queenless with the queen cells?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks,
scott

Offline colbees

• House Bee
Re: need advice....robbing!
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 09:25:26 pm »
just reduce the enterance and try a robber screen, it might not be robbing i thought that i was getting robbed last week until i had a local beekeeper who came over and said that the darker bees are just older than lighter bees ( I  have italian bees also). Good Luck