Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: I need a new supplier  (Read 4832 times)

Offline WalshMC

• Brood
Re: I need a new supplier
« Reply #20 on: June 01, 2011, 02:31:38 pm »
So, I am new to beekeeping, got started a little late and feel your frustration!  I dealt with Busy Bees Apiaries and after having placed the order in March for delivery mid-April, taking 3 vacation days in order to definitely be at the country house for the shipment, we find out that there was a shortage and they never shipped.  And still haven't.  Despite multiple calls and promises that they were going to ship out "this week" (we stopped taking vacation, however).  The tone of the announcements were "yes, we know you were supposed to get bees but our supplier is having trouble, don't call us, we'll call you . . . and remember we're a family-owned business so don't expect customer service."  We finally cancelled the order. People like Hardemans and Busy Bees and all these folks who are out there peddling bees online need to realize they've got a business to run and people who are really

B Weaver got some extra nucs this spring from friends in Fla., were local to us (in TX) and far more professional.  We're hoping (fingers crossed!) to get them later this week/early next.

Offline Francus

• House Bee
« Reply #21 on: June 01, 2011, 03:19:47 pm »
I fear I may be in the same boat. I, too, am new to beekeeping. I ordered some carnies from a supplier in Tennessee, a mere 4 hour drive from my house. I decided to have them delivered rather than take a day off work with no pay.

The bees are now 3 weeks overdue and their website says it will be 2 to 3 more weeks and I am getting impatient. I am afraid even if I get my bees they won't have time to draw comb and store up honey for the winter, especially as I am going foundationless.