Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Learning Curve  (Read 1467 times)

Offline JD

• New Bee
Learning Curve
« on: September 05, 2009, 06:22:27 pm »
I've been beekeeping for 3 years now. Its been allot of fun not to mention the rewards of the honey harvest and just watching and learning. My first 2 years I never got stung once. This year I've been stung on 2 separate conditions. The first time was when I weedeating in front of the hive. Done it hundreds of times. This time they were bearding all over the front of the hive. Them bees are fast. Got stung once on the neck and 4 times on my leg. Wished I had a video of it. Swatting, spinning in circles all the way to the safety of my garage. The stings didn't really hurt that bad and the swelling really wasn't that noticeable. The second time was after I had extracted my honey. I removed the honey from the supers and decided I would put them out the next day and let them clean them up. What A BIG MISTAKE! I was cleaning up at the same time. The distance between me and the supers was reasonable I thought. All I heard was a buzzing and wham. Nailed right on the ole ear. You want to talk about something funny. Imagine looking at yourself in the mirror and seeing one ear sticking out three times as far and twice as big as the other one. Did it hurt? Not really. Was my pride hurt? Yes. Glad I was on vacation. Didn't leave the house for 2 days. I live in a small town, kids getting out of school, and the neighbor decided to mow his grass. Them bee's were going crazy. All I could think of was someone getting hurt. Well  the cop's didn't take me or the girls away in handcuffs so I guess every thing is fine. A list of not what to do would be fine. Thanks  JD   

Offline Sparky

• Field Bee
Re: Learning Curve
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2009, 09:46:58 pm »