Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: I heard a rumor about some beekeepers not overwintering...  (Read 3395 times)

Offline yvette97206

• New Bee
I heard a rumor about some beekeepers not overwintering...
« on: April 29, 2006, 03:34:57 am »
Hi there, I'm a newbie...

I have a question that may not come accross very well, but I ask it with real honest intentions...

I was reading recently in a bee periodical about the idea of not overwintering a hive of bees.  His logic was that you are supposed to requeen every year anyway and any bees that you put to bed last winter won't be around anymore come spring.  Also, he said, if you take all of the honey you end up with about three times as much, thus justifying the cost (for us, about $65.00) of purchasing new bees every spring.  Also, he pointed out, you do not have to feed syrup, medicate, or do anything more than maintenance.  (Well, he put it more like "after harvest, close the lid...don't look back...").  You don't end up with using any chemicals, thus none end up in any honey.

As someone who loves bees, this is hard to swallow.  Any thoughts?  

Offline Jack Parr

• House Bee
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 07:26:08 am »
Bees don't drop bombs  :?:  That is a political statement and this is a Forum about bees, sooo...

I suppose that you are a pacifist  :?:

Anyhow from one who was a potential bomb dropper, for a long time, your question is old hat.  There was, and probably still is a method of beekeeping that did just that; Start fresh in the spring with a package of bees and a queen, let them do their thing, produce, hopefully, a good crop of honey and at season end gas the bees in the hive and be done with the problem of overwintering. Start fresh next spring. Go huntin' and fishing instead of worrying about some insects :?: