Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbee bee keeper in SEQ ( Beaudesert )  (Read 5037 times)

Offline Drmaz

• New Bee
Newbee bee keeper in SEQ ( Beaudesert )
« on: October 03, 2013, 10:17:59 pm »
Hi I'm new to bee keeping. I run a small organic veggie farm south west of Brisbane ( near Beaudesert )

A little while ago I brought a couple of empty hives which I have cleaned and repainted. I have brought and made up 20 new frames. And I'm now ready to add new bees. I did find a swam on my property about a week ago but it was 4 m of the ground so I wasn't able to reach it properly. But I still tried to collect it I was able to get quite a few bees but didn't get the queen so most of the bees have moved on ( about 25 still hanging around ). :-( :-(

So I thought I might get a package of bees but not sure where to buy them from. Anyone know where I could get a quality bee package from?  Any hints for a newbee bee keeper would also be greatly appreciated.

Offline Drmaz

• New Bee
Re: Newbee bee keeper in SEQ ( Beaudesert )
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2013, 10:43:37 pm »
Sorry about the multiple posts of the same topic but it kept coming up with an error saying something about unable to post so after a few attempts I shut everything down and restarted and found that it did in fact post my topic. Mod could you please remove the duplicate post. Sorry again about the duplicate posts

Cheers
Stan

Online Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2013, 01:03:33 am »
don't worry about it.  the site is twitchy tonight. 
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline Drmaz

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2013, 01:23:58 am »
don't worry about it.  the site is twitchy tonight.

Thanks kathyp :-)

Offline kanga

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2013, 07:57:48 am »
Stan, welcome to the forum.  I have sent you a PM with details of a commercial queen bee breeder near you.

Kev