Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Bee candy  (Read 2469 times)

Offline Stung

• New Bee
Bee candy
« on: May 18, 2013, 08:55:54 pm »
I am new at this and I want to make bee candy.  I'm told don't use any sugar except pure cane sugar.   I went and bought sugar off the Amish, but I don't know what kind off sugar it is.  I was told don't put corn syrup in the mixture, and put 2 or3 teaspoons of vinegar in it.  Would any body please help this poor sole.  I have bees coming in a couple days, I thought that it would be easier with the candy than the sugar water.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

Offline JWChesnut

• House Bee
Re: Bee candy
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 10:40:26 pm »
There are many threads on this forum and the internet  in general about "fondant" or bee candy.   A good summary recipe is at
http://cheathambees.blogspot.com/2012/01/excellent-fondant-bee-candy-recipe.html

Note the instructions -- add vinegar to invert, don't overheat (use a candy thermometer), and whip vigorously to "whiten" and stiffen. 

I agree with Tefer (comment below) that bees reject the fondant in the summer - clean it out of the hive like any intrusion. The crumbles dump through my screen board.  Mixing sugar in a mason jar feeder makes a lot more sense.   I have top covers cut to fit the lid of a mason jar with a couple of pinholes, put the jar on, and the bees come up through the inner cover to feed.  Reduces robbing compared to entrance feeders, and easier to maintain than internal frame feeders, lower volume than dedicated whole super feeders.  A homebuilt migratory cover out of used plywood reduces the cost of feeder to the spaghetti sauce you bought to get the mason jar.