Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: homemade extractor  (Read 12828 times)

Offline jimmy

• House Bee
homemade extractor
« on: May 14, 2008, 11:34:35 pm »
I found these plans for a homemade ingenious idea on the net.

Any thoughts?

http://www.honeymoonapiaries.com/homemadeextractor/homemadeextractor1.htm
« Last Edit: May 15, 2008, 06:32:12 am by eivindm »

Offline MustbeeNuts

• Field Bee
    • Great White Betta
Re: homemade extractor
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 08:06:38 am »
Not that I'm an expert at all but it looks rather difficult to me. I would rather kick the 100.00 bucks or so for a premade, that is if my bees ever make enough honey that i would need one.
Each new day brings decisions,  these are  new branches on the tree of life.

Offline jimmyo

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 08:38:41 am »
A friend just sent me this one http://www.voiceofthehive.com/VotH/15_1_Voice_of_the_Hive-Roll_Your_own_Extractor.htm 
 Let us know how this works for you.
Jim 

Offline bassman1977

• "King Bee"
  • Super Bee
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 12:12:54 pm »
Not that I'm an expert at all but it looks rather difficult to me. I would rather kick the 100.00 bucks or so for a premade, that is if my bees ever make enough honey that i would need one.

I'm with you although they are a heck of a lot more than 100 bucks.  That two frame plastic job, from what I have heard, is a piece of junk.  You may get lucky and find a used stainless steel extractor for $100 but I wouldn't hold my breath.  I have a 3 frame, which is great for a beek with a few hives.  I'll probably be selling mine in the next year or two.  I am quickly outgrowing it.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')

Offline Drone

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 12:47:12 pm »
The first design looked like a Rube Goldberg special. Waaaaay too much trouble and mess compared to crush and strain if you only have a hive or two.

A radial makes more sense if you have a lot of supers to extract, homemade or not.

-John