Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: small hive beetles  (Read 2021 times)

Offline jimmy_in_texas

• New Bee
small hive beetles
« on: September 01, 2007, 02:17:35 pm »
Hello from Willis Texas,

I have some observations of this new pest and was wondering what anyone else has noticed about these bugs, I am new to beekeeping, about 4 months ago I moved a feral nest to my home, as I was tearing the old wood container apart the bees were in, I saw a few small black beetles running about on the combs, at the time I did not know what they were, I went ahead and finished wiring in the comb to the new frames and sealed up the hive, for the first 2 weeks everyday after work I would sit by the hive and just watch the activity, most evenings I would see 2 or 3 of these ladybug size beetles hovering in front of the hive and then fly right on in, one day I saw a group of bees wrestling with a much larger one trying to get him out of the hive, he just crawled right back in, my first inspection when I lifted the cover I saw a few small ones running around on the top bars.

well I got on the internet and found out what these things were, I bought some check-mite and placed the cardboard as directed, after 3 weeks I removed it and there were maybe fifty dead ones under the cardboard, its been going on 2 months since then and I havent seen anymore flying or in the hive, I wonder if this is just a temporary cure and theyll be back soon? or has my colony gotton strong enough to keep them at bay? maybe they are seasonal and they wont be back until next spring?  I dont like using chemicals of any type and but felt I had too after reading about what they can do to a hive.

I bought one of those SHB traps from Dadant but will not use it unless I see them again.  anyway I was wondering what anyone elses experience with these things might be.

Jimmy

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
Re: small hive beetles