Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Late Starter  (Read 2910 times)

Offline Piper

• New Bee
Late Starter
« on: April 25, 2006, 01:58:01 pm »
Hi.  I'm just getting into beekeeping, don't even have a hive yet.  I'm not even a new-bee... more like a wanna-be-a-new-bee.  I decided to build a TBH with my husband's help.  Actually he'll probably do the building while I read on from the plans  :lol:   Will probably use plans similar to the ones found at backyardbeehive.com.  I've also ordered the top bars from them since I know they have to be exact, and since we've never even seen one didn't want to take any chances.  I'm sure later we'll say WE could have made those, but at least this way I'm a little bit closer to getting a hive. Since I'm starting this late in the season, I think my chances of getting package bees shipped will be slim once we're done building the hive. Did some calling around and found that many are sold out, or if they do have them I'd have to order NOW and we not ready yet.  If I can manage to get some bees from someone local, do you think it would be worth my while trying to establish a new hive this year, or should I just build the hive, keep studying and wait til next season? There is NO way I could capture a swarm.. I'm going to have to psych myself up enough just to install package bees (don't laugh). I really want to do this though.  Just wish I'd gotten the ball rolling earlier.  If there is anyone out there from MD or nearby that would have bees available, or wouldn't mind acting as a kind of mentor, please contact me! For that matter I'll take any advice on starting a new TBH. Thanks all! Sorry for the ramble!

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Late Starter
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2006, 02:14:22 pm »
Will probably use plans similar to the ones found at backyardbeehive.com.

I'd take a look at beewranglers plans ->http://bwrangler.madpage.com/bee/ttbh.htm