Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Swarm Season  (Read 10327 times)

Offline jmblakeney

• House Bee
  • James
Swarm Season
« on: February 11, 2011, 11:52:32 am »
Hey all,
This is my first year beekeeping and I was wondering if there is any one out there around the Tennessee area who knows around about when the swarm season usually starts kicking up.  I am making some of Robo's Bushkill Swarm Traps and didn't know when to start putting them out.  Also, is there really that much difference between the lure's that you can use (lemongrass oil or the swarm lure from the catalogs)?
Thanks
"I believe the best social program is a job...." - Ronald Reagan

Offline VolunteerK9

• Super Bee
  • Gamecock fan in UT land.
Re: Swarm Season
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 11:56:02 am »
The first week of May last year I caught my first swarm-I'm going to put my traps out around the first of April. My thinking is if we have any early Spring it could make for early swarms. I had two traps out in the same area, one baited with the commercial pheromone and the other lemongrass oil. Both had a frame of drawn comb inside. The one that caught the swarm was with the lemongrass oil.

Offline jdnewberry

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 12:07:06 pm »
The earliest swarms I have seen around here have been the first week of May.  VolunteerK9 hit it on the head...  Put the traps out in the first part of April and bait with whatever you want.  The lemongrass seems to work well, but then again, so do the commercial lures...

Offline John Adams

• New Bee
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 12:47:29 pm »