Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Starting the Hive deep supers  (Read 2949 times)

Offline GerryL

• New Bee
Starting the Hive deep supers
« on: February 14, 2007, 03:52:50 pm »
I'm just starting out.  Buying a three pound pkg. Do I start with one deep hive body and add a second as the as the comb is drawn 7-8 frames? then the same for adding the Medium honey super. I will be using wired wax foundation. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks Gerry
Gerry L

Offline Finsky

• Super Bee
Re: Starting the Hive deep supers
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2007, 04:00:07 pm »
I'm just starting out.  Buying a three pound pkg. Do I start with one deep hive body and add a second as the as the comb is drawn 7-8 frames? then the same for adding the Medium honey super. I will be using wired wax foundation. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks Gerry

That measure of bees occupies perhaps 5-6 frames and draw combs. After 4 weeks new bees emerge so much that cololy expand.

Let it expand first to the whole box and let them draw combs. First box should quite full of bees before you pt second. I would put second box under the first deep.  But it depends where you live and how warm you have there after 5 weeks.

Dont feed too much that bees fill valuable cells with sugar. All calculated together one frame would be full of sugar and then stop feeding.

Offline Kirk-o

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2007, 06:07:44 pm »
Just take your time do some reading when one box starts to fill up put on another in the mean time go read Michael Bush's web page especially the part on unlimited brood nest you will like it kirk-o
"It's not about Honey it's not about Money It's about SURVIVAL" Charles Martin Simmon

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2007, 06:26:10 pm »