Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: No comb built in honey supers  (Read 2854 times)

Offline bberry

• House Bee
  • Playing with wool is good for your soul
No comb built in honey supers
« on: July 24, 2007, 03:47:36 pm »
Hello all, i am new to the beekeeping game and am currently taking care of two colonies. they have been doing so well that i added a honey super to each of my hives with a queen excluder over two weeks ago. Just checked them this morning and there are bees all over the frames of the honey super but there is no comb built up-none at all. I know that these bees can build comb FAST as they filled up two deep boxes each in just over a month. So what to do?
 I am worried that they will become honey bound as they are packing frame after frame of honey into the deeps-that is why i added the honey supers in the first place.
Should i give them a week and if still no comb remove the queen excluders?
Can i remove the queen excluders until the frames are built up and then replace them?

Offline KONASDAD

• Super Bee
Re: No comb built in honey supers
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2007, 05:02:49 pm »
They will build comb if they want. You might want to remove the queen excluder to insure the queen has enough room. I dont use one at all. Rather have an extra board of brood in my super than a swarm. It might aid them in getting to work in the new super. Aso, spray foundation(if its plastic) w/ sugar water and honey-b-healthy.
"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2007, 05:22:28 pm »
if they are up there, they will fill it when they have stuff to fill it.....however, there is nothing wrong with taking off the excluder and seeing what happens.  it might speed things up.  later you can decide whether you want to put it back, or not.

Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline Scadsobees