Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Pierco frames  (Read 3387 times)

Offline dfizer

• House Bee
Pierco frames
« on: October 01, 2012, 03:40:55 pm »
I'm trying to get a sense of what kind of frames to use going forward.  Currently all of my hives and supers are full of pierco frames.  I have no experience with the foundation / wood frames.  At times it seems like the bees don't really like the plastic frames. 
What are your thoughts on this?  What are the pluses and minuses to each? 
Please advise.
David

Offline Vance G

• Queen Bee
Re: Pierco frames
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2012, 06:53:15 pm »
I use mostly plastic frames.  I find little wrong for my purposes with the Mann Lake frames.  I order them waxless and get a good additional discount.  My last small to  middlin size order, I got deeps for $1.35 delivered and mediums 1.25.  Everything has gone up since then, but you can deal with ML and costs nothing to try if polite.   I have lots of good chemical free, disease free wax to roll on them but drew out a couple hundred this fall without coating them.  I ran pierco in the early seventies and had no problem with them then and I hear they are better built today than the ML.  I guess the holes for SHB to hide in could be a concern for those with the problem, but knock on wood I don't have them yet so I really do not know.  You don't need to be afraid of plastic frames.  They will be well drawn if you introduce them properly.

Offline mulesii

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2012, 12:59:14 pm »