Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Queen spotting.  (Read 2203 times)

Offline Spear

• House Bee
Queen spotting.
« on: August 24, 2013, 07:20:38 am »
As you all might know by now I'm very new at this whole beekeeping thing but have jumped in at the deepend with 12 hives - 10 bought from the widow of a 2nd generation beekeeper & 2 from the bee club. The 10 hives are on my mothers property and the other 2 are on my tiny garden. Today I decided to see if I could spot the queen in my 2 garden hives. In the 1st hive I only spotted new emerging bees, capped beood, young brood & eggs, didn't see the queen but know she is there because of the eggs. Closed up the hive happy that all is well there. 2nd hive - lots of capped brood, young brood & eggs. Then to great delight I see her! A lovely bright yellow queen just happily doing her job. I was so excited I almost did a victory dance with the frame in my hand then remembered that would not be a goot idea an carefully replaced the frame and compleated my inspection before closeing up the hive. A good beekeeping day if I do say so myself :D
Tried to video tape my inspections but with my camera man with my mother is was not so sucsessful...

Online BeeMaster2

• Administrator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Queen spotting.
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 08:10:21 am »