Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: the ladies are angry  (Read 3035 times)

Offline bhough

• New Bee
the ladies are angry
« on: August 18, 2007, 09:01:08 pm »
Dear Friends,

This is my first year with bees.  I bought a great nuc (from Bjorn Apiaries near Harrisburg, PA) and they have been doing great.  However, over the last few weeks, they have been alot more aggressive.  Previously, I could open the box and do whatever I want, now they are buzzing my head and sneaking into my shoes to bite me!  I think there are several possible explanations: 1) I am a rookie and this is how bees behave when their hive is threatened 2) I am using shredded paper for my smooker and need to use something less toxic (they seem to get even madder when I smoke!) 3) I have irascible bees. 

Any suggestions?
b

Offline TwT

• Senior Forum
  • Galactic Bee
  • Ted
Re: the ladies are angry
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2007, 09:33:33 pm »
bee's get more aggressive during dearth's an being queenless, first you should check and see if you have a queen in the hive, if you do I would suspect a dearth is going on....... if you cant fined a queen look for eggs and larva, sometimes a queen will shut down duing a dearth and unless you can find her you will not know being new to beekeeping, just my 2 pennies worth !!!!! 
THAT's ME TO THE LEFT JUST 5 MONTHS FROM NOW!!!!!!!!

Never be afraid to try something new.
Amateurs built the ark,
Professionals built the Titanic

Offline beeginner

• House Bee
  • The swarm I hived
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2007, 09:37:41 pm »
For a smoker use pine needles. Try and stay away from any thing that has been treated. Like papers cardbord burlap + you dont even know what was in the burlap might be someing really toxic to the bees. I use pine needles thats really good smoke. Or you can use pine cones corncobs or old wood.

Offline TwT

• Senior Forum
  • Galactic Bee
  • Ted
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2007, 10:02:08 pm »