Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: hive inspection  (Read 1581 times)

Offline binglis

• New Bee
hive inspection
« on: August 13, 2006, 08:52:30 am »
I am new to beekeeping, and have only one hive. I have two deeps and two supers, the supers being almost full with honey. I would inspect every week before I added the supers, and look for the queen. Now that the supers are in place (and partially full), what is the best method for finding the queen?
Do I remove both supers, and the top deep, and leave them lying on the ground while I search for the queen (and inspect the bottom deep in general...)?
Would this not be dispruptive, if done every week (or every other...) in the honeyflow season?
Thanking you all in advance...
binglis

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
hive inspection
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2006, 10:31:07 am »
Searching for the queen is very disruptive for the hive at anytime.  It sometimes requires a total dismantaling of the hive during the search.
I would wait until the honey supers are harvested prior to commencing such a search.  Locating and evaluating the queen only needs to be done 2 and maybe 3 times a year.  In the spring to evaluate brood pattern and produlction, after a swarm, and post honey harvest as part of a accessment of wintering capability.

If you are determined to find her do the following:
1. Open the hive as usual, smoking the bees as necessary.
2. remove the top and place it inside up on the ground on one side or the other of the hive--opposite of the side you prefer to stand on.
3.  Remove the supers intact and place catty-slonch-wise on the top so as not to squish and kill bees.