Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Many pigeons dead  (Read 4277 times)

Offline Pond Creek Farm

• Field Bee
Many pigeons dead
« on: November 06, 2008, 10:16:35 pm »
I lost 14 of my pigeons in two days.  I am new at this and expected losses, but now I really feel terrible.  I have a few left and have opened the coop and let them have free range.  They come and go as they please and I have thrown out all feed and bought new just in case it was tainted.  Water was fine and protectd from droppings and the like.  Perhaps they were sick when I got them, and I really cannot detail any symptoms other than death that they exhibeted.  Bummer really, but hopefully my next batch will be better.  The survivors I am doting on as best I can.  The ones that survived are huge, and look like partridge.  I wonder if the big ones killed the little ones.
Brian

Offline Brian D. Bray

• Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Heavenly Beekeeper
  • Galactic Bee
  • I really look like this, just ask Cindi.
    • http://spaces.msn.com/thecoonsden
Re: Many pigeons dead
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 10:57:58 pm »
I lost 14 of my pigeons in two days.  I am new at this and expected losses, but now I really feel terrible.  I have a few left and have opened the coop and let them have free range.  They come and go as they please and I have thrown out all feed and bought new just in case it was tainted.  Water was fine and protectd from droppings and the like.  Perhaps they were sick when I got them, and I really cannot detail any symptoms other than death that they exhibeted.  Bummer really, but hopefully my next batch will be better.  The survivors I am doting on as best I can.  The ones that survived are huge, and look like partridge.  I wonder if the big ones killed the little ones.

I walked out to my loft yesterday and my grizzel hen was dead on her perch. 

With free range the hawks will soon reduce your numbers to zero.