Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: iphone apidictor for acoustal beehive swarm detection  (Read 8133 times)

Offline hydronics

• New Bee
    • Instructables Website
iphone apidictor for acoustal beehive swarm detection
« on: March 08, 2012, 04:55:04 am »
Hi all,

I'm a novice honeybee enthusiast....

I came across an article about Eddie Woods and his acoustical swarm detection machine, the Apidictor. I was able to use an existing iphone app. for real-time frequency filtering of the hive sounds and provide a close reproduction of what I think Eddie heard. I'm not selling anything.... I'm interested in using readily available technology to study bee behavior... err beehavior..

http://www.instructables.com/id/iphone-apidictor-for-acoustal-beehive-swarm-detect/

Eddie described a 'hiss' and a 'warble' occurring at different frequencies. The hiss occurs above 3,000hz after knocking the hive with an open hand. The warble occurs at around 250hz and is an indicator of hive problems.

I was able to record two different hives in the above 3,000 hz range and the knocks were followed by a nice audible hiss in most cases. Out of about 9 knocks I would get 3-4 strong hisses and more hisses could be detected after further sound amplification on the PC using the free software Audacity. This makes sense as it is still winter here in Portland, Oregon and there should not be any preparations for swarming. I also recorded to hives in the 250 hz frequency and did not hear any warbling. There was a low drone. I'm looking forward to hearing some warbling as we move into spring in summer.
« Last Edit: March 15, 2012, 07:19:31 pm by Robo »

Offline DoctorZ

• New Bee
Re: iphone apidictor for acoustal beehive swarm detection
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 10:24:32 am »
Beemaster Greetings.

I'm a NewBee to the forum and was quite interested in your test of Eddie Woods' hypothesis using modern tools.