Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Crush and strain versus extracted honey crystalizing  (Read 6319 times)

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
Crush and strain versus extracted honey crystalizing
« on: March 19, 2008, 08:51:16 am »
There was a topic of discussion some time ago here about whether extracted honey did not crystalize as quickly as crushed and strained.  I have some first hand experience here.

Two years I have extracted honey, that honey remained in a liquid state each time for about a year and a half, all gone, so I don't know how long it would have remained in a liquid state.

I went to check my honey (my four gallons in glass gallon jars) and they have commenced to crystalize.  Identical flowers around my place every year.  So I am going to have to go with that yes, crushed and strained honey (in my case anyways and the flowers foraged on) crystalized faster.

I do not want this honey in a crystalized state.  My customers (be them family or clients) like liquid honey.

I must return this honey back to a liquid state.  It is still not even close to being solid at all, it is still reasonably liquid, but it is going to be solid probably soon.

I need to know indepth, how to return it to a liquid state at the safest temperature possible to not destroy any flavours or quality of the honey.

Setting the honey in the water bath is the method I understand.  Certain temperatures must also be in order. 

Can someone explain the length of time and the temperature of the water to safely restore the liquid state of this honey.  How long does it take for all the honey in the gallon jar to become that temperature throughout the entire gallon jar.  These are questions that I would like someone(s) to would ponder and explain to me how this heating works.  I hope that I have explained clearly enough what my wishes are here.  Have the most wonderful and great day, lovin' and sharin' this earth, Cindi