Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Carana & Mellifera management differences  (Read 8410 times)

Offline beecanbee

• House Bee
Carana & Mellifera management differences
« on: September 10, 2009, 02:33:49 am »
A few differences in management.  But a caveat too.  Since I am new to and just learning about mellifera, some of this may not be a difference.

Apis Cerana are wont to abscond.  This means limiting inspections.  I open my hives only a few times a year – for Spring a cleaning, about once a month during summer, for a fall harvest & cleaning, and a winter feeding.  When I harvest, about 50% of the time they will nearly-abscond.  That is the workers will all depart the entrance and gather somewhere on the outside.  If the queen has also left, find her and put her back.  To know if she has left, inspect the gathering for shape, and if symmetrical she is out, but if it looks like massive bearding you are probably OK to ignore it.  Generally I will scoop globs of bees with my hands and shake them off at the entrance and then observe if they enter or not.

You don't smoke them – as they will only get angry.  If you want them to move, you breath on them – or tap with a hive tool, and they will move down into the hive and off of the frame that you are handling.  Do this too much and they will abscond.

Cerana do not get diseases – so no medications of any sort in the hive.  I only use a chemical outside of the hive to ward off ants.

When they swarm – it will be to the same spot in the apiary.  This means that you can place a swarm-catcher, attached to a rope, and easily catch swarms for re-hiving.  I use a 1/2 box, cut on the diagonal such that it looks like an A-frame.  The inside is lined with the bark of cherry trees and has a small cherry branch in the top for them to attach to.  I lower the box with the swarm and jolt the bees free – directly into a new hive.