Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Confused over Queen excluder use  (Read 2064 times)

Offline Janemma

• House Bee
Confused over Queen excluder use
« on: April 22, 2008, 04:45:37 pm »
I have been reading about the Queen excluder and how most beeks don't use them.  I also read that you should never use an excluder when using a super of foundation above the brood box. 

An excluder came with my hive package but I would prefer not to use it.

I would like my honey supers to be foundation-free.

I am very confused as to the use of Queen excluders though - how do you stop the Queen from using the honey super as an extra brood box? 

many thanks

(from a complete beginner)                                           

Offline KONASDAD

• Super Bee
Re: Confused over Queen excluder use
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2008, 04:55:08 pm »
If you dont use an excluder, you MAY get eggs and brood in a honey super. The queen needed more room to lay, so she went up and layed egges is all. I dont use them. I would rather lose a frame or two of honey than a queen to a swarm b/c she didn't have enough room to lay. Commercial beeks like excluders b/c they want to move fast, not worry whether the queen is in a super before removing it for extraction w/o looking in the super. For a few hives, its not needed IMO, I just look for eggs or brood in each box as i go. If the queen lays in there, just leave those frames in the super and extract the rest or leave it all for winter or later in the season when the brood nest diminishes in size..
"The more complex the Mind, the Greater the need for the simplicity of Play".

Online Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2008, 11:13:56 pm »
>I would like my honey supers to be foundation-free.

You mean brood free?

>I am very confused as to the use of Queen excluders though - how do you stop the Queen from using the honey super as an extra brood box?

If the queen needs the space, would you rather they swarm?