Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Few questions  (Read 1985 times)

Offline kattz

• New Bee
Few questions
« on: May 29, 2008, 12:26:32 pm »

I have just a question to ask or a few. When you first get you bees do you wait until you get about 8 frames on your brood box filled before adding another?

Then once you get those 2 full how many honey shallow supers to you add and when?

Finally when you do get honey do you only grab a few full frames to get the honey out or a full super? As always thank you for answer my questions

Offline Rodni73

• House Bee
Re: Few questions
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2008, 12:39:43 pm »
Hi!

I am a beginner but from what I read is you use the 7/7 rule! When your bees draw combs on 7 frames you add a supper and you keep on going...! The rest of the questions, I am sure there are a great number of pro's who will answer them

-Regards
-Rodni

Offline bassman1977

• "King Bee"
  • Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2008, 02:07:47 pm »
I have just a question to ask or a few. When you first get you bees do you wait until you get about 8 frames on your brood box filled before adding another?

When 7 or 8 are full, then yes, that is a good time.

Then once you get those 2 full how many honey shallow supers to you add and when?

How big of boxes are you using?  I use all mediums and I consider 3 of them (2 deep equivalent) as the brood box, although I use an open brood nest so the whole hive is a brood box if the queen wants it to be.  I started using an excluder for making comb honey, which I do in the shallows.  So, to answer your question a bit better...when your "brood box" is around 7 or 8 frames full, go ahead an add the shallows.  If there is a flow going on, adding a few should be ok.

Finally when you do get honey do you only grab a few full frames to get the honey out or a full super?